Vertical Microgreen Upgrade!

From this..

From this..

wpid-20141001_150119.jpg

Inner view

To this!

To this!

Hello everyone!
It has been about a month since my last post and I wanted to share with you our most recent upgrade.
As you can see, we’ve gone vertical!
We do not have much room here in the townhome so to resolve the issue, we opted to grow vertically.
This allows us to MUCH better utilize the limited space we have been given.
The last photo shows our progress:
Two shelves (graciously donated by the parentals) with 5 racks.
Each rack is fitted with t5 grow lights.
Amy skillfully adapted 2 two bulb shop lights into lights that can be plugged into an ordinary plug
(Let us know if you need help doing this yourself)
the bottom two racks are fitted with 4 bulb T5 grow lights from Envirogro.
As you can see, each shelf can now hold 4 trays where the previous setup had us tapped out at 8 all together.
The lights are plugged into a timer that gives the plants 18 hours on, 6 hours off.

We are making real headway starting up this microgreen business.
we’ve been sending samples to willing and local restaurants and have been taking requests for more samples!

What’s on the horizon?
More shelves = More Microgreens!
Stay tuned for more updates 😉

Om Nom Nom Nom!

Om Nom Nom Nom!

7 thoughts on “Vertical Microgreen Upgrade!

  1. I am a retired veteran in New Mexico and am looking into starting a micro green biz. Would love to know how yours is doing now. Have the chefs bought yet and how is it going overall?

    • Hello Kenny! Sorry for the lack of updates but things really have been pretty busy! Chefs around town love our microgreens and have already landed ourselves our first pretty big client! I’ll be sure to write an update post on it pretty soon. Thanks for asking Kenny, I will be happy to answer whatever questions you may have! 😉

      • Thank you for your quick reply. I do have a few questions that you may be able to answer to help me do my feasibility study. I searched for these answers but everyone has very far ranging answers. Example when I tried to find out how many ounces of greens I can get from a 10 x 20 inch tray I got answers ranging from a few ounces to 10 pounds per week. So hopefully you can help me zero in on a more realistic number.

        The questions I have right now are these:

        1. How many ounces of greens can I expect to get from one 10 x 20 inch tray? (I understand that it may depend upon density of the greens.)

        2. How much do they sell for at your farmers market (if you have done that yet) per ounce/ bag or clam shell (how many ounces per bag and clam shell?).

        3. At what price do you sell to chefs per ounce/pound/ or?

        4. If you were to sell a whole 10 x 20 tray to a chef, how much would you sell it for? (I like the idea of selling the growing plants in the tray to chefs so they will be as fresh as can possibly be – a possible selling point?)

        Also you mentioned that you were providing samples to chefs (which is the soft sell approach that I want to use). Did you do that in person and did you provide the samples in small seedling containers or?

        Thank you so much for responding.

        Kenny Dutton
        Glorieta, NM

  2. This is awesome!! I love the fact that you started in a corner of your townhouse with a sheet and slowly grew it from there 🙂 We started day old chicks in our garage in a small neighborhood and now we just bought 5 acres to spread out and have CSA customers. You just have to stop procrastinating and start and it will groooow!! Good luck and best wishes! I will be checking back 😉

Leave a comment