Inoculated Spawn, my first shot

Hey guys,
just wanted to share my first steps in mycology with the rest of you folks.
wpid-20140607_175631.jpg
Here is a view of our shiitake bed/ herb garden that we have outside with our bonsai. With our natural farming approach to our herb garden, I am hoping that the saprophytic fungi benefit from the increases in organic matter from the herb garden. Similarly, I want to see if the saprophytes may somehow benefit the living herbs in the garden. I’ll be sure to keep you guys updated on that one 😉

But before we started the outdoors project, we started with our little indoors project.  Here is a view of how it currently looks (sorry, I should have taken pictures when i first started, shoulda started the blog sooner!)
wpid-20140603_223040.jpg
Not very exciting eh? I think not!
What you see here is
 Pleurotus eryngii mycelium, otherwise known as the King Oyster mushroom, running through straw substrate.
This was a project of many firsts for me. First of all, I was reading Paul Stamet’s Mycelium running and I was all jazzed up about mushrooms. So this was my first time working with inoculated spawn, first time pasteurizing sterilizing anything, and first time incubating….well, anything at all. I really hope I didn’t mess it up!
All i used for the process was
-a bottle of hydrogen peroxide
-cotton balls
-stovetop
-plastic bags

after about 3 weeks of incubating, this is how it looks!
wpid-20140612_174607.jpg
In this picture, you can see the two inoculated specimens sitting by their humidity bowl. for one of the specimens, i used a plastic bag and for the other i used a mason jar.
Everything here, including the container was sterilized heavily with hydrogen peroxide to prevent any form of contamination.

wpid-20140603_223129.jpg
It looks like it is colonizing fairly well wouldnt you think?
I’m hoping for a pound or two of delicious king oyster mushrooms.
Aargh I can’t wait!

Be sure to subscribe for more updates on our organic container garden, mushroom farming, bonsai, and other exploits.

Thanks for stopping by!
-Eugin

 

Leave a Reply

