Baby Herbs EVERYWHERE!

Happy Monday [ 😥 ] everyone!

Eugin here and I wanted to give you guys a quick update on the progress of our herb garden/ shiitake bed.

If you guys forgot, just a few weeks ago, I had built a container garden out of a few wooden pallets I had been hoarding. I filled it with a bunch of organic matter + compost and this is what it looked like when I was done:
20140603_184336
Nothing too exciting here just yet.

Since then, I sowed a variety of herbaceous seeds into the pallet and now this is what it looks like now!  wpid-20140616_172549.jpg
The buckwheat has been sprouting like mad and it is adding a nice flush of green to the once empty space. I am hoping that the deep tap roots will help to aggregate the soil and give the microorganisms a nice place to call home. Its actually kinda crazy, just how much water these little guys hold on to! I was watering the same soil mixture in other containers but much more frequently. These guys hold lots of it!

Here is a close up of the smaller guys, waiting to burst forth.
wpid-20140616_172611.jpg
Not too sure which ones are shown here in the picture because they were tossed kinda willy nilly but we will find out soon enough! I will definitely need to do some fine tuning to possibly weed out the overly sown areas. We will see what I choose to do when that happens. Any suggestions? Please feel free to leave it below!

Here is a view of our soil thus far:
wpid-20140616_172627.jpg
The camera does not do the image justice but the soil is alive!
The soil itself practically shifts with the movement of microorganisms! I dunno, I’m pretty proud of it! To think that it is all in an old wooden pallet from behind our business complex?

Also, we got our first tomato!
wpid-20140616_172118.jpg
I don’t think it was completely ripe just yet but I seriously couldnt wait.
wpid-20140616_172241.jpg
They say you haven’t tasted a real tomato until you’ve tasted your own.
Today I tasted my first tomato and it was incredible.
Why don’t they sell them like this in the grocery markets?

Amy wants to make fried green tomatoes with a few of the others. We will let you know how that goes 🙂
As always, feel free to leave questions, comments, or suggestions. We really love hearing from you guys 😀 😀
And also be sure to subscribe for future updates from Me and Amy

Till next time, hope you guys have a nice evening !
-Eugin

E dit:
Sorry guys, I am still pretttty new to WordPress so I have a quick question for you veterans:

How do I add a photo to be featured for the post?
Also, does anybody have tips to sync to Google Analytics?

Leave a Reply

